FIGHT FOR VOTES IS WON BY WOMEN

Thirty-Six States Have Ratified Amendment.

TENNESSEE FALLS INTO LINE

Washington is the Thirty-Fifth- Seventy Years of Struggle for Equal Suffrage- Features and Some Immortal Names.

Washington-- American women have won their fight for votes. Washington and Tennessee have ratified the constitutional amendment, making 36 states out of 48.

Upon the opening March 22 of the special sessions of the legislatures of Washington and Delaware, the woman suffrage situation in the United States was briefly this:

Amendment to the Constitution passed by congress June 4, 1919, as drafted in 1875 by Susan B. Anthony: "The right of citizens of the United States to vote shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any state on account of sex." Ratification necessary by legislatures of three-fourths of the 48 states of the union.

Amendment ratified by 34 states, beginning with Wisconsin, June 10, 1919, and ending with West Virginia, March 10, 1920. Constitutionality of Ohio rati-fication before the United States Supreme court.

Amendment defeated by six states between September 12, 1919, and February 17, 1920, as follows, in the order named: Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, South Carolina, Virginia, Maryland.

Connecticut and Vermont- no regular sessions until 1921. Governors had refused to call special sessions.

Florida and Tennessee- Cannot vote in 1920 because of constitutional provision requiring election to intervene between submission of amendment and action on it.

Louisiana- Legislature to meet in June; small hope of ratification.

North Carolina- Legislature to meet in special session in August. Gov. Thomas W. Bickett had declared his intention to ask for ratification.

Washington promptly ratified. Delaware and Louisiana re-used. The governors of Connecticut, Florida, and Vermont refused to call special sessions. The United States Supreme court upheld the Ohio ratification on the ground that no state constitution had the authority to change in any detail the method which the United States Constitution itself provides for its amendment. This decision cleared the way for the special session in Tennessee, which began August 9.

It is seventy years since the organized movement for woman suffrage was begun in the United States.

In 1848 Lucretia Mott and Elizabeth Cady Stanton called the first Woman's Rights convention at Seneca Falls, N.Y., which launched a "Declaration of Sentiments" and passed a resolution demanding equal suffrage.

These are two immortal names in American history. Lucretia Mott (1793-1880) was born in Nantucket, Mass., of Quaker parents. After teaching, she became an "acknowledged minister" of the Friends. She married James Mott, who worked with his wife against slavery.

Elizabeth Cady Stanton (1815-1902) was born in Johnstown, N.Y. She married in 1840 Henry B. Stanton, a journalist and anti-slavery

speaker. From 1869-1883 she was president of the National Woman Suffrage association and addressed congressional committees on woman suffrage. She was the joint author of "History of Woman Suffrage" (1881-8) and "Eighty Years or More" (1895) is her autobiography.

A third name is that of Susan B. Anthony (1820-1906). She joined with Lucretia Mott and Elizabeth Cady Stanton in organizing the woman suffrage movement. She became in time the real leader of the movement; certainly she was its first militant suffragist. Born in Adams, Mass., she came of Quaker stock, and early devoted herself to "temperance" (the prohibition of those days) and to the abolition of slavery.

In 1875 Miss Anthony drafted the amendment to the Constitution which has now been ratified. In 1878 the amendment was introduced in the senate by Senator Sargent of California. It was defeated in 1887 and thereafter was not even debated in congress until 1914.

During the years the Constitutional amendment campaign was making no progress the women won many victories in the states, securing full suffrage in 15; presidential suffrage in 12 and partial suffrage in several others.

The National American Woman Suffrage association in 1912 openend headquarters in Washington and becgan an active campaign for the passage of the amendment. In 1916 it established branch headquarters there which were devoted entirely to the amendment campaign. The campaign was educational and social as well as political and attracted world wide attention.

The National Woman's party, organized in 1910 by Alice Paul, established Washington headquarters in 1913 and introduced the militant into the campaign.

Alice Paul- the third Quakeress to immortalize herself- is the spectacular figure of the struggle. She developed the deadliest card index on members of congress that practical politics has ever seen. She served notice through the White House pickets that the president was the "man higher up." The arrest of nearly 500 of these pickets and the imposition of jail sentences followed. Incidentally Miss Paul herself served seven terms in jail.

The amendment was beaten three times in the senate and once in the house before it was finally passed by the Sixty-sixth congress June 4, 1919, by the necessary two-thirds majority.

The year 1869 saw the formation of two national organizations: National Woman Suffrage association, with Mrs. Stanton and Miss Anthony leaders and headquarters in New York; American Woman Suffrage association, with Mary A. Livermore, Julia Ward Howe and Lucy Stone headers and headquarters in Boston. The line of division was this: The former wished to concentrate on the passage of a constitutional amendment; the latter was in favor of obtaining the suffrage through amendments to state constitutions. In 1890 the two organizations were united under the name of National American Woman Suffrage Association, and work was pushed along both lines of endeavor. Mrs. Stanton was president until 1900, resigning at the age of eighty. Mrs. Carrie Chapman Catt was its head 1900-1904. Dr. Anna Howard Shaw, recently deceased and possibly best loved of all the leaders, a woman of transcendent gifts and eloquence- was president until 1915. Mrs. Catt was then again chosen. Mrs. Frank Leslie left a large legacy to Mrs. Catt to be used in the work.

The National association made arrangements at the St. Louis convention of 1919 to dissolve its organization and become the League of Women Voters. These arrangements became effective at the Chicago convention in February last. So the League of Women Voters now holds sway over something like 27.000,000 potential American women voters. Mrs. Catt, who is also the head of the International Women Suffrage alliance, which she founded in 1904, is honorary chairman; Mrs. Maud Wood Park is chairman; Mrs. Richard Edwards of Indiana, treasurer; Mrs. Solon Jacobs of Alabama, secretary, and there is a board of regional directors.

-Manchester Enterprise, August 1920